You are here:   Civilisation >  Books > ONLINE ONLY: Furst Principles

Furst’s heroes are almost never British or American, which means they come from countries that have been or will be conquered. They are all Continentals, living in an age when Britain was not imagined to be part of the Continent, and in a geographical (and perhaps other senses), wasn’t, as the Third Reich would pretty swiftly discover. A contemporary dictionary tersely defined a sea lion, as Peter Fleming wittily observed, as a carnivore very imperfectly adapted to a marine environment, and that imperfect adaptation meant that Britons and Americans were spared certain choices history forced on Continentals. Most of Furst’s novels celebrate the ones who made an extraordinarily difficult choice.

The Spies of Warsaw, the first novel in the series not to do that, does something else: it reminds its readers fact that while intelligence services can succeed in gathering the facts, military and political elites can refuse to break with their preconceptions, and that if men and women are sufficiently unlucky, truly ghastly things will follow.

May of 1940 remains an infinitely compelling moment because it reminds posterity that military innovation can alter the course of history, allowing the new and monstrous to overthrow the normal and civilized. In this sense, Furst’s tenth book describes the origins of the books that preceded it: it describes how Continentals became so unlucky that they needed heroes.
View Full Article
Dave B
July 29th, 2008
2:07 AM
I always enjoy Mr Furst's books, but I get the impression, I'm not sure why, that he actively dislikes British people.

July 24th, 2008
10:07 PM
Looking forward to the release, I have read all of his novels to date, first three, couldn't put them down. He is a modern Simenon with deeper, darker plot, knowing the background history alters my enjoyment not one jot. Modern classics.

Post your comment

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.